Wednesday, May 2, 2007

2007 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize Winner

'The Book of Chameleons' by Angolan author José Eduardo Agualusa has won the 2007 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. Originally published in Portuguese, the novel was translated by Daniel Hahn.
According to The Independent, "The novel mixes comedy, tragedy and touches of fantasy as it explores the recent history of the former Portuguese colony, whose independence in 1975 was followed by more than 20 years of bloody civil war." To read more, go here.
José Eduardo Agualusa's 1997 novel Creole won Portugal's Grand Prize for Literature.

1 comment:

Lotus Reads said...

Wow, where have I been, I didn't know about this prize!!! I must go in search of some of the previous winners! We have very good friends of Portuguese descent but who were born and brought up in Angola...I will enjoy telling them about this book.

Thanks, Chitts!